Skip to main content

Lyca Mobile General FAQs

Everything You Need to Know About SIM Plans: Get Answers to Common Questions and Make Informed Choices.

Bundle and credit reservation

  • What is credit reservation? And why has my credit been frozen?

    Credit reservation is a new system we have introduced to automatically reserve credit paid for by top-up voucher or debit card in your Lyca Mobile account for the purpose of activating a rolling Pay As You Go plan or queued Lyca Mobile plan.
    When you do not have enough credit in your balance for our system to automatically renew/activate your requested plan, our system will now automatically reserve any existing Lyca Mobile account credit until you’ve topped up enough balance to renew/activate the requested plan.
    This is to prevent you from accidentally using services at PAYG standard rates without your knowledge (for example, data used by apps for alerts and background refreshes).
    We will notify you that credit reservation has taken place on your Lyca Mobile balance. Any chargeable calls will divert to customer service, so you can release your balance.
    For example: you purchase a €20 30-day plan. When the expiry date arrives, you only have €8 credit shown in your balance. With our credit reservation, your balance will automatically be reserved at €8 – and you will be sent a text message letting you know. If you then top-up €15 (bringing your total balance to €23) the system will automatically active your €20 plan. Your new plan will begin, and you will have €3 balance to use for out-of-plan services.

  • What if I have activated my plan using a debit/credit card?

    If you have activated your plan using a debit/credit card, unfortunately our credit reservation system does not support this payment method at the moment. We hope to change this soon. If you wish you can change your payment method by logging into your Lyca Mobile account.

  • What happens to the services when credit reservation causes my Lyca Mobile account balance to be reserved?

    When your account balance is reserved due to credit reservation, your Lyca Mobile services will be limited to non-chargeable calls and texts. This includes incoming calls, texts, customer service calls, and any free calls/texts – eg freephone numbers and free data (where applicable). Any additional unexpired Lyca Mobile plan will still continue to be available to you until it expires.

  • How do I release my Lyca Mobile account balance when credit reservation has activated?

    To deactivate credit reservation and release your balance, text CANCEL to 5309. Your scheduled plan will be cancelled and reserved credit, if any, will be available for use at PAYG rates or for a

Is this helpful?